Nigeria name uncapped strikers for World Cup

FC Crotone striker Simeon "Simy" Nwankwo, NPFL leading scorer Junior Lokosa, Plateau United goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye as well as Stephen Eze have been listed on Nigeria's provisional World Cup squad.

Gernot Rohr has stuck with the quartet of Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Ajiboye, Daniel Akpeyi and youngster Francis Uzoho in the goalkeeping department. The remaining 28 except Italy-based Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo are the regulars.

The Super Eagles, one of the five African representatives are set to hold camp from May 22-11, June, 2018, three days before the tournament gets underway.

Nigeria have been drawn in Group D in Russian Federation, alongside Argentina, Iceland and Croatia, who they open their tournament against in Kaliningrad on June 16.

Seven players will be dropped after the England game for the mandatory 23 that will be submitted to feature in Russian Federation. The Super Green Eagles were drawn in Group D along with Argentina, Croatia and Iceland.

There is, however, no place in the squad for recuperating Henry Onyekuru, whilst Brown Ideye misses out on the World Cup for the second consecutive time after being dropped prior to the 2014 edition.